Presbytery of Southern Kansas logo


Presbyterian Women

Purpose of Presbyterian Women: Forgiven and freed by God in Jesus Christ, and empowered by the Holy spirit, we commit ourselves to nurture our faith through prayer and Bible study, to support the mission of the church worldwide to work for justice and peace, and to build an inclusive, caring community of women that strengthens the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) and witnesses to the promise of God's kingdom.

Click here to read about the Presbyterian Women Churchwide Gathering in 2018

The annual Spring Gathering and business meeting of the Presbyterian Women of Southern Kansas was held on Saturday, April 21, 2018, at the United Presbyterian Church, Sterling, Kansas. The theme was “The Bread of Life” from John 6:35. Thirty-five members representing 10 churches and three guests were in attendance.

Pastor Melissa Krabbe of the United Presbyterian Church, Sterling, led morning worship. The Sterling Food Bank was the recipient of items brought to the Gathering. Darlene Risley of the Sterling Food Bank told the group about their work. The morning offering was also designated for the Sterling Food Bank.

The Highland Singers from Sterling College sang several numbers for the Gathering, and then asked the whole group to join in singing favorite hymns. During the business meeting, Coordinating Team members were elected and installed and the 2017 financial report and the budget for 2019 were approved. An Honorary Life Membership was presented to Grace Lupfer of United Presbyterian Church, Jetmore.

After lunch, those attending the Churchwide Gathering, to be held in August, were commissioned.

The drama “Women of the Tent” was presented. The drama centered around the gathering of the loaves after the Feeding of the Five Thousand.

Presbyterian Women in Southern Kansas (PWSK) Coordinating Team 2018-2019:


Sue Nispel (2020)

Vice Moderator – Justice & Peace

Lynne Quast (2019)

Vice Moderator – Mission

Nora Coryell (2019)


Peggy McAllaster (2019)


Glenda Hawthorne (2021)*


Mary Burgett (2021)*

Kansas Church Women United Rep.

Anna Fralick

Resource Leaders

Anna Fralick (2019)

Sandra Larson (2020)

Susan Wyman

Mission Committee Member

Nita Whiteman (2020)

Justice & Peace Committee Member

Kathy Randall (2020)

Search Committee

Roberta Johnson (2019)

Debbie Harries (2020)

ArrowIcon BloggerIcon AimIcon DeliciousIcon PaperIcon EtsyIcon FacebookIcon FilmStripIcon FlickrIcon CameraIcon LaunchIcon GooglePlus2Icon GooglePlusIcon HeartIcon InformationIcon InstagramIcon LastfmIcon FrontCameraIcon LinkedInIcon EmailIcon MoneyIcon ItunesIcon MyspaceIcon OpenTableIcon PayPalIcon PencilIcon PersonIcon PhotoIcon PicasaIcon PinterestIcon PodcastIcon RssIcon ShoppingCartIcon SoundCloudIcon StarIcon TableProjectIcon TheCityIcon TumblrIcon Twitter2Icon TwitterIcon TypepadIcon VideoIcon VimeoIcon WordPressIcon YelpIcon YoutubeIcon